12 months ago a certain Ray Wilson, Chairman of the Former Players Association, walked off with the Joe Brandrick Trophy with a clear winning margin, could he retain the trophy in 2021.


Nine Association members plus two guests and the grandson of Joe turned up at the West Wales golf course rated in the top 5 in Wales and top 60 in the UK. Aberdovey Golf Club has been the home for this competition now for the last 4 years, a beautiful part of Wales, close to Cader Idris overlooking Cardigan Bay.


The journey was slightly traumatic for some as the road from Machynlleth to Aberdovey was closed but the alternative route via Talyllyn was dramatic, the scenery was wonderful and certainly worth the need to go an alternative route.


Aberdovey Golf Club are extremely welcoming and the course, tough though fair, certainly sorted everyone out. Our usual Monday afternoon stableford team competition was narrowly won by Gary Owen, Geoff Snape and Joe Mayo.


Tuesday morning sees the individual stableford competition for the Trophy, 1st tee off 10am final putt on 18th 2.30pm, nine playing for the prestigious claret jug and scores are close, so close that Ian Edwards and Ray Wilson ended up with the same score. The tension mounted, who has won, a check of the cards and we have a winner because of a better score on the back 9. 34 points was the winning score and yes Ray Wilson has retained the trophy.

Well done Mr Chairman, it does help playing with your own clubs and not borrowed ones.


Neil Brandrick kindly represented his grandfather and presented the trophy to our winner.


Our thanks must go to JC Payne Ltd for there sponsorship and to Neil for representing the Brandrick family.


Members:  Gary Owen, Joe Mayo, David Butler, Ian Edwards, Geoff Snape, Kevin Summerfield, Mark Grew, Mick Fudge, Ray Wilson